Trash has been added to Google Contacts, making it easier for you to recover contacts that you have accidentally deleted. Now, when you delete a contact on any device - web, Android, and iOS - it will go into Trash, where it will stay for 30 days before being permanently deleted. In that time, you can view, restore, or permanently delete the contact.
Note: Trash can only be viewed and managed on the web.
To learn more about Google Contacts, please visit the G Suite Learning Center.