G Suite Updates

Subscribe for Email Updates

Jul. 31, 2020

 

Trash has been added to Google Contacts, making it easier for you to recover contacts that you have accidentally deleted. Now, when you delete a contact on any device - web, Android, and iOS - it will go into Trash, where it will stay for 30 days before being permanently deleted. In that time, you can view, restore, or permanently delete the contact.

Note: Trash can only be viewed and managed on the web.

To learn more about Google Contacts, please visit the G Suite Learning Center.


Jul. 31, 2020

 

Google Calendar added additional editable event fields directly into the pop-up dialog box when you create a new event, including:

  • Guest permissions: Grant guests permission to see the guest list, invite others, or edit an event.
  • Description and attachments: Add an event description along with attachments from your computer or Google Drive.
  • Event visibility and notification: Choose an event color, customize notifications, set free/busy, and change an event’s visibility.

With these changes, you will be able to add all the necessary information to your event within the pop-up dialog box, without needing to click on More options, saving you time when creating an event.

To learn more about Google Calendar, please visit the G Suite Learning Center.


Jul. 16, 2020

 

To increase the privacy of education meetings in Google Meet, anonymous users (those that are not signed into a G Suite or Google account) will no longer be able to join a meeting created by a UNLVMail or Rebelmail account. The change will prevent anonymous users from joining and disrupting the meeting, a behavior commonly referred to as “zoombombing.” 

What does this mean for you?

  • As a meeting organizer: When you create a meeting and share the meeting link, your participants must be signed in to a UNLVMail, Rebelmail, or personal Google account in order to join.

  • As a meeting participant: When you join a meeting, you must be signed into a UNLVMail, Rebelmail, or personal Google account.

Google will begin rolling out the change today, although it may take up to 15 days for it to affect your account. 

For more information about Google Meet, please visit the Google Meet Learning Center. If you have any questions or concerns about this change, please contact the IT Help Desk.